Understanding tae40116 certificate iv in training and assessment understanding tae40116 certificate iv in training and assessment

Understanding TAE40116 Certificate IV in Training and Assessment

We still receive countless enquiries for RPL against the above qualification most of which have no chance of succeeding and it is clear the content of the qualification is just not understood very well, even by experienced Trainers and Assessors from overseas.

There are 3 Learning Fields in the qualification and the basic intent of each is:


The assessment requirements are driven by 2 plus 1 units of Competency.

TAEDES401 Design and develop learning programs

TAEDES402 Use training packages and accredited courses to meet client needs

In essence you are required to interrogate Training Packages to produce Learning Programs and to be able to tailor the resources to meet the individual needs of different learners. These activities take quite a bit of work as there are many elements to consider in the building of your resources.

As a subset of Design we include TAELLN411 Address adult language literacy and numeracy needs. This is a complex Unit which considers the Australian Core Skills Framework and the interpretation of the levels of such things as oral communication and numeracy etc. The unit teaches you how to use the ACSF, how to identify the LLN needs of any unit and how to choose and administer the available instruments to measure the levels apparent in an individual and how to interrogate the results to identify any training requirement.


The assessment requirements are driven by 3 Units of Competency.

TAEDEL401 Plan, organise and deliver group-based learning

TAEDEL402 Plan, organise and facilitate learning in the workplace

BSBCMM411 Make a presentation (elective)

There is a general view in the market place that this Learning Field is only about presenting to a group but that is not the case. There are definitely presentations that are required to be conducted in front of a designated minimum number of people but there is a huge array of other things to explore such as producing session plans, planning for risk assessment etc. It is also in this Learning Field you learn about Work Based Learning pathways, how to design, implement and prove their effectiveness (think of traineeships and apprenticeships).


The assessment requirements are driven by 4 Units of Competency.

TAEASS401 Plan assessment activities and processes

TAEASS402 Assess competence

TAEASS403 Participate in assessment validation

TAEASS502 Design and develop assessment tools

This is the most difficult Learning Field for nearly every Learner and it is the area which has been substantially strengthened in the upgrade from TAE40110 Certificate IV in training and assessment to the current qualification.

If we consider the Learning Field from a macro perspective we note the core task is to take Units of Competency from the National VET Register (training.gov.au) and to produce complete assessment tools from these, an assessment tool is a complex array of documents that include mapping, validation, instruments, instructions, model answers etc. These units provides each VET practitioner with a process that allows Assessment occur at a level of quality that would meet the requirements of each of the VET Regulators in our country.

The qualification consists of 10 Units of Competency and there is nothing called a “shortcut” at HBA Learning Centres, you dot the I’s and cross the T’s in everything you do with us, this is why we have some of the most prestigious organisations in our country as Corporate clients.

Enjoy your journey and know, if you enrol with HBA Learning Centres you can access assistance after hours.